Living in Texas, in the Summer, I am challenged every time I step outside to pull my yoga off the yoga mat and into the rest of my life.  Just as like attracts like, dislike attracts dislike, and the more I resist this heat, the more the heat holds me down as I squirm!

Timarie Two-Step is a true event, but I don’t have pics. Calvin will have to do. It looked something like this!

Imperfect weather has the ability to get to me right down to my core.  For me, it sums up the feelings I’ve had from any frustrating encounter or situation…and to be completely truthful, the 5-year-old “Timarie Two-Step” temper tantrum desperately screams to flail about!  But, with the weather, there is no one to flail at, but myself.  In my flailing, the heat rises, and I feel worse.

Deep breath.  This weather is truly MY teacher.   Here is what I’m learning:

– Let go.  I cannot control it.  It is not going to change for me.

– Find the good in this not so-perfect situation.  (Example: We have beautiful evenings, sometimes evening begins at 10pm :), but it is beautiful when it begins.  The sun set is bright orange in the sky, and I’m comfortable when I walk my dogs without a single goose bump.)

– It won’t last forever.

Texas Sunset

– Most importantly, I am reminded that I am a magnet.  If I want to enjoy my time in July and August, I must celebrate the good, every little inch of good, and not even think of the bad.  As I attract like, my attempts to control and manipulate this powerful force is released, and so the powerful force releases its control of me.  

The unthankful heart… discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and, as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings! – Henry Ward Beecher 

What is your teacher?   How is your teacher challenging you to expand and grow?

