I can outright say I have been fully addicted to caffeine for the past 6 months.  Having a toddler who is constantly on the move has aided me in becoming overly dependent on this wondrous beverage.  Don’t you just LOVE coffee?  Everything about it…the mom and pop coffee shops (okay, I like DD and Starbucks too), the smell of a fresh brewed pot, the type of social gathering a cup o’ joe meet up can bring, oh yeah…and the taste.  So beyond just the caffeine “buzz” that stays with me for half the day, I love all the things that come along with that beloved cup of dark brew.  I mean, what is better than that little cup of heaven to kick start your day?!?

I’ll tell you what is better…NOT crashing at 2PM.  And for me, I don’t just mean the fatigue sets in.  I can confidently say that the caffeine “crash” not only aids in an energy crash, but also a mood crash.  What goes up must come down, right?  So after half a year of this vicious cycle, I have decided to slowly wean myself back to a good ol’ fashioned cup of tea.  I just hope I don’t transition to March Hare from Alice in Wonderland…

“You’re Late for TEA!”

So here’s a few fun facts about why tea is a great alternative to coffee (cited from Dr. Pratt’s Superfoods Rx).  This list pertains to black, green, and oolong. Tea can:

  • lower blood pressure
  • help prevent cancer and osteoporosis
  • lower your risk for stroke
  • promote heart health
  • May possess a probiotic effect (good for GI health)
  • Potential prevention of kidney stones
  • Aiding in prevention of dementia
  • play a role in preventing sun damage to skin

Does this info make you want to jump off the coffee train yet?!?

My new favorite tea shop

Here are a few helpful pointers if you are wanting to rev up your tea intake:

  • Tea bags and loose leaf tea are equally potent in health benefits
  • Brew tea for at least 3 minutes
  • Squeez the tea bag to double the polyphenol boost
  • If you are caffeine sensitive, reduce the brewing time to 1 minute
  • To get the most antioxidant bang for your buck, drink the tea while it’s freshly brewed
