I LOVE pumpkin – pumpkin pie, pumpkin latte, pumpkin smoothie, pumpkin pudding – you name it, if it’s pumpkin, I like it.  (Fall is a great time of year for me!!)  The trouble I find is that almost all pumpkin dishes are loaded with added sugar!  So, I’ve created an awesome Healthy Yummy Pumpkin Smoothie recipe that you can feel good about enjoying.

If you want to skip over my commentary here, the recipe is at the bottom, but before I give away the recipe, I need be completely honest with you.  The other morning, I felt Fall creeping in, and my Pumpkin craving soared.  I excitedly went to my pantry to pull out a can of 100% Pure Pumpkin puree, and guess what I found!?  I found that I had mistakenly bought Pumpkin Pie mix!  The little devil on my left shoulder started rubbing her hands together with an excited smile, and she told me, “hey, it’s Organic, so it’s all good.”  The little angel on my right shoulder tried to reason, reminding me that I am not supposed to have a lot of sugar, the doctor would not approve…but alas, just this once, (yea right,) the little devil won…and I excitedly whipped up my smoothie recipe with the Organic Pumpkin Pie mix.  It’s funny because it sounded SO good, wrong, worth it and delicious, but like every other time I give in, it wasn’t!  I had such a massive sugar rush to the head that morning, I wasn’t myself, and then was greeted by the massive sugar plummet by lunch time – I had as much energy as a pancake. 🙂

Two points here:

1) Listen to your angel!  We will feel better, and ultimately, that’s all we want from life, is to FEEL GOOD!

2) Just because it is Organic, doesn’t mean it’s good for you.

Healthy Yummy Pumpkin Smoothie (The real deal)

2-3 heaping scoops canned Pure Pumpkin

1/2 frozen banana or 1/2 apple

5 shakes cinnamon

5 shakes cloves

nutmeg to taste

water, coconut milk, or almond milk

1 scoop plain greek yogurt (optional)

spinach or barley grass (optional)

pinch or drop of stevia and vanilla extract

Blend up and enjoy

